ERT Awards 2018 – the finalists

The finalists for this year’s ERT Awards have been announced.

A panel of industry experts has decided the shortlist for the retailer and the training awards – judging took place on June 21, at the techUK offices in London, and the session was chaired by ERT editor, Sean Hannam.

The judging panel comprised Andrew Denham, consultant at Nostralis; Stuart George, managing director of Cambridge Audio; Charlotte Graham-Cumming, director of marketing company Varia Solutions; Paul Hide, director of markets and membership at techUK; Robert Hughes, managing director of Hughes Electrical; Clare Newsome, head of marketing and PR, Exertis Unlimited, and Daniel Todaro, managing director of field marketing agency Gekko.

Independent retailers were asked to vote for their favourite sales rep in a survey carried out by Gekko, research partner for the ERT Awards.

The winners of the ERT Awards 2018 will be revealed on Monday, October 1, at the Turning Point Live! event, at The Grand Connaught Rooms in London’s Covent Garden.

There will also be a Special Achievement Award, sponsored by Roberts, which will be announced on the day. The hospitality partners for the day will be Yamaha and Yusen Logistics. This year’s ERT Awards are also supported by Amdea, Blomberg, Electrical Safety First, Exertis, Freeview Play, Gekko, Hoover, Miele, Panasonic, Retra and techUK.

Said Mr Hannam: “Congratulations to all the finalists and thanks to the judges for giving up their time to decide this year’s shortlist and winners – it was a tough task. The judges said that many of this year’s entries were of a very high standard – they were impressed that several of the retailers had upped their game as a result of ERT’s Turning Point campaign to revitalise the industry. I look forward to seeing you on October 1,  for our Turning Point Live! event, incorporating the ERT Awards – the biggest and best awards in the electrical retailing sector.”


Independent Electrical Retailer of the Year

Sponsored by Panasonic

  • Superfi, Nottingham
  • Herbert Todd & Son, York
  • Peter Tyson, Carlisle, Cumbria

Domestic Appliances Retailer of the Year

Sponsored by Miele

  • Coopers, Bath, Somerset
  • Purewell Electrical, Christchurch, Dorset
  • Herbert Todd & Son, York

Domestic Appliances Showroom of the Year

Sponsored by Blomberg

  • Herbert Todd & Son, York
  • Peter Tyson, Carlisle, Cumbria
  • Purewell Electrical, Christchurch, Dorset

Consumer Electronics Retailer of the Year

Sponsored by Exertis

  • Avensys, Crawley, West Sussex
  • Superfi, Nottingham
  • Peter Tyson, Carlisle, Cumbria

Consumer Electronics Showroom of the Year

  • Peter Tyson, Carlisle, Cumbria
  • Spiritland Headphone Bar, Mayfair, London
  • Stone Audio, Poole, Dorset

Customer Event of the Year

  • Premier Sounds, Bodmin, Cornwall
  • Purewell Electrical, Christchurch, Dorset
  • Superfi, Nottingham
The judging panel

Turning Point Award

Sponsored by Hoover

  • Basil Knipe Electrics, Ballymoney, Northern Ireland
  • Superfi, Nottingham
  • Herbert Todd & Son, York

Salesperson of the Year – Independents

Sponsored by Freeview Play

  • Jennifer Balfour, store manager, Steamer Trading, Harrogate, North Yorkshire
  • Greg Crisp, sales assistant, Hughes, Newmarket, Suffolk
  • Dave Lee, store manager, Herbert Todd & Son, Harrogate, North Yorkshire



Sales Rep of the Year – Independents

Sponsored by Retra

  • Tracy McKernan, regional sales manager, Beko
  • Ken Robinson, area sales manager, Sony Centres and consumer electronics specialists, Sony UK and Ireland
  • Ian Toller, area business manager, BSH

Training Award

Sponsored by Electrical Safety First

  • BSH
  • Miele
  • Sony
  • T21

For more information on the ERT Awards, visit